top of page
Search

How to create a video where you talk to yourself (cloning)

In this challenge we were asked to interview ourselves with a "clone". This was interesting and I had not considered it before. I researched and learned this technique could be done on my MacBook with IMovie.





I couldn't figure out the content until I thought of one of the funniest interviews I remembered watching as a kid. The Argument Clinic.



To create this effect you have to put a camera on a tripod and split the screen using IMovie (Green/Blue Screen).


You must record each part of the conversation and get the timing close, so that when pasted on top of each other the dialog flows.


I recorded Mr. Grey Shirt first, and as you can see my eyes were averted because I was trying to read the script at the same time.


On Mr. Red shirt I learned I could have the script propped up right in front of me because it would be over the split in the screen so it wouldn't be seen. This was a much better effect because I am looking right at Mr. Grey shirt the whole time.


If I had more time I would have re-recorded Mr. Grey shirt using the propped up script, then their eye contact would have been more realistic.


In order to get the timing to match up, after I recorded Mr. Grey shirt, I played it back and recorded the sound to my I-phone. Then I listened to that recording as I responded to Mr. Grey shirt in the script. I must have practiced more than 20 times to get the timing right.


This video on youtube was most helpful to me in executing this technique: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Upf0Qeod3L0


140 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page