top of page
Search

How to animate an envelope to appear to go under a door in Storyline

Updated: Jul 6, 2021

This interaction came about while thinking about an e-learning challenge on Summary screens.


I wanted to do something around spies because I always found the subject fascinating from being raised on James Bond movies.


I recalled that their was a spy museum where I could learn about some spy gadgets. I had intended the interaction about gadgets.





Instead I found some videos under the education part of the site entitled "Spying at Home". These became the inspiration for my Spy School interaction and also provide the "training" for the new recruit.



The videos and the lessons plans from the website were incredible and I wanted to feature them in my interaction.


Once I settled on the first lesson being around cryptography, I realized that the dial in Storyline would be ideal for a decoder disk. Once I built that then I needed to somehow deliver an encrypted message to my "student".





The hotel room scenario came next.


I built all of my graphics in PowerPoint using some photos from Storyline Content Library. There are three "animated" events in the project which I built frame by frame using states and cue points to time the changes.


One simple but fun interaction was having the envelope slide under the front door. This was fairly simple. Take the scene photograph and copy it, then crop it so we were down to just the door. Then layer it (scene, envelope, door) and give the envelope a motion path. Wait a few seconds once the student is looking at the door and then move the envelop under the door.





39 views1 comment

1 commentaire


Mike Brown
Mike Brown
08 août

Highly recommended, vape devices consistently provide a satisfying experience with each use.

J'aime
bottom of page